Broadway production of ‘Back To The Future’ announces initial cast and venue

The musical will hit the Great White Way in summer next year, with Roger Bart reprising his role as Dr. Emmet Brown. With music by Alan Silvestri and lyrics by Glen Ballard, the show’s creative team features major award winning members, including Tony recipient director John Rando.

“Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads”. At least not to get to the main destination, that’s for sure – because the most advanced Delorean of all time is bound to make its first major flight in just a matter of months. Today, the creators of the Back To The Future trilogy, Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale, along with lead producer Colin Ingram, have made official who will be playing two of the iconic characters in the Broadway version of the acclaimed musical. Reprising their roles from the West End show, Roger Bart will hit the Great White Way as Dr. ‘Emmett Brown’, accompanied by Whats On Stage Award-winner Hugh Coles in the role of ‘George McFly’.

Featuring original music by Alan Silvestri (who also penned the films’ unmistakable score), lyrics by Glen Ballard and a book by Bob Gale, this exhilirating sci-fi story takes us through teenage Marty’s jittery adventure to travel back through several decades to the moment his parents met each other. There’s only one chance to ammend things – or he will face ceasing to exist! Directed by Tony Award-granted John Rando (UrinetownOn The Town), the creative team includes Tim Hatley (set and costume design), Tim Lutkin (lighting), Hugh Vanstone (lighting consultant), Gareth Owen (sound) and Finn Ross (video), with choreography by Chris Bailey, musical supervision and arrangements by Nick Finlow and Illusions by Chris Fisher.

Set to open at New York’s Winter Garden Theatre on Thursday 3 August 2023 (previous beginning Friday 30 June), the current London cast is formed by Roger Bart and Ben Joyce as ‘Dr Emmett Brown’ and ‘Marty McFly’ respectively, with Amber Davies as ‘Lorraine Baines’, Oliver Nicholas as ‘George McFly’, Jordan Benjamin as ‘Goldie Wilson’, Harry Jobson as ‘Biff Tannen’, Sophie Naglik as ‘Jennifer Parker’, Gary Trainor as ‘Strickland’, Will Haswell as alternate ‘Marty McFly’ and ‘Dave McFly’ and Emma Lloyd as ‘Linda McFly’. Further members include Amy Barker, Simeon Beckett, Sia Dauda, Tyler Davis, Glen Facey, Dylan Gordon-Jones, Adam Margilewski, Cameron McAllister, Alessia McDermott, Bryan Mottram, Laura Mullowney, Anna Murray, Jon Reynolds, Melissa Rose, Georgia Tapp, Justin Thomas, Charley Warburton and Tavio Wright.

Back To The Future currently plays at London’s Adelphi Theatre from Wednesday to Monday – current booking period until 23 July 2023. Tickets are available on the following link.

By Guillermo Názara

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: